Book series I love – Vampire Academy and Bloodlines

There are many book series I love immense, you might be better off saying I have an addiction in reading them. I am pretty sure my dear husband can vouch for this haha. I will post a couple of series over the course of a couple of weeks as I have a few.
Let me start with two of my favourite ones, I absolutely adore these and read them over and over again, especially when I’m in need of a light easy read. It’s like reading about friends and being surrounded by friends. Richelle Mead has done a superb job with the below series. Can’t wait for the two remaining books to come out.

  1. Vampire Academy – This is a fantastic feel good young adult romance series I absolutely adore. This is a series I keep reading over and over again especially when I’m not well. This is a book series of 6 books and is about Rose Hathaway and Lissa Dragomir. Rose is Lissa’s guardian, it’s a book based on friendship and love. I’m not sure what is the best way to describe the series in a couple of sentences but I hope this helps; taken from the official Vampire Academy website:

    Two races of vampires walk our world. One, the Moroi, are alive and wield elemental magical. The other, the Strigoi, are undead and evil—feeding on the innocent to survive. Rose Hathaway—a half-vampire with poor impulse control—is training to be a bodyguard for a Moroi princess. Learning to decapitate and stake is hard enough, but Rose’s real danger may lie in an illicit romance with one of her instructors…

  2. The instructor is called Dimitri Belikov and Lissa’s boyfriend Christian. I can’t stop reading about these 4 and some of the other characters like Adrian Ivashkov, who you will know more about in probably point 2 of this list hehe J The journey from book one to book six is captivating and changing and challenging. They make me laugh, cry, sometimes I want to shake some sense in some of them. Rose is my girl crush in books, she’s amazing and I think everyone can learn something from her.
    The series got 6 books:
    Vampire Academy
    Frostbite
    Shadow kiss
    Blood Promise
    Spirit Bound
    Last Sacrifice
  3. Bloodlines – Bloodlines is a spin-off series from Vampire Academy, I can highly recommend to read Vampire Academy first before starting this. These series is about Sydney, she’s an alchemist and doesn’t like vampires in any shape whatsoever, but alchemists are there to shield humans from these creatures. Adrian Ivashkov and Sydney are wonderful in these series, they protect Jill. I can’t tell you more at the moment as I don’t want to give away too many spoilers.

    Rose’s story might have wrapped up in the Vampire Academy series, but there’s still lots more to tell about the other characters from that world. This spin-off series centers around Sydney the Alchemist, a human teen who’s part of a group to keep the existence of vampires secret from the world. Sydney’s spent her entire life being taught that vampires and dhampirs are evil and unnatural, but all that’s about to change when she’s forced into hiding with Jill, Adrian, and Eddie…

    This series will also have 6 books, but the last two aren’t released yet:
    Bloodlines
    The Golden Lily
    The Indigo Spell
    The Fiery Heart
    Silver Shadows (29 July 2014)
    TBC (2015)

4 thoughts on “Book series I love – Vampire Academy and Bloodlines

  1. Sweet! I wanna read these series as well, only i hate that my english isn’t so good. But maybe like you said in post 1 these would be easy and fine to learn to read books in english.
    And i heared about the movie, looking forward seeing it too. Altough they always say first to read the books and then go to the movie. What do you think?
    Hugs and kisses…Mijntje.

    Like

    • I think these books are available in Dutch as well 🙂 but they might ease you in reading in English. I remember the first couple of times in the past that i looked in my dictionary.
      I would suggest to read the books before the movie, always. You can use your imagination when reading instead however mostly the films are quite good as well.
      Let me know when you will start reading this series xx

      Like

  2. Oh, your right i rember that they are in Dutch. Hmm..now i’m in doubt haha..wich language will it be. I’ll let you know! And yes, i agree i’ll read the book before seeing the movie.
    Which book are you reading now? And or, are you reading more books then one at the same time at different moments?
    Good evening, hugs and kisses, Mijntje.

    Like

    • At the moment I am reading Dark Peril – Christine Feehan. This is book #21 in the Dark Carpathian series. I can’t part yet with my Carpathians at the moment. At work I’m currently listening to Shadow Kiss via Audiobook. What are you reading at the moment?

      Love Charlie x

      Like

Leave a Reply

