Book Series I love: The Hunger Games

hunger games boxsetThis is another one of my favourite series list and one I can also highly recommend!

This is about a series of books with Katniss Everdeen, a random girl from District 12, being in the centre of the attention without really meaning to. In this future America, this has been divided into 12 districts, or was it 13? And because District 13 in the past had tried to do an uprising against the Capitol (basically District 1) and failed the Capitol has not only destroyed district 13 but also created The Hunger Games. Which means that from each district a boy and a girl, entering unvoluntarily from the age of 12, will be drawn and entered into this game where only 1 wins/survives. If you lose, you have died in these games. This is the ‘celebration’ of the lost uprising from District 13.

I do love my Dystopian Young Adult books and I absolutely love and loathe at the same time these games, because how unreal is it to see your child being picked out and being thrown into an arena with hardly no survival chances?
well below I have added the books, images, links to more information and their synopsis so you can see for yourself if this book series is worth a read. I say YES! And I would also recommend to watch the films, the first 2 books are already released and both available on DVD, the 3rd book will be done in 2 films with part 1 coming out in November this year.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) – Suzanne Collins

Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, a terrifying reality TV show is taking place. Twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live event called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.
When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

Download here a sample Chapter.
And see here the movie trailer from The Hunger Games.


Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) – Suzanne Collins


Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

In Catching Fire, the second novel in the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before…and surprising readers at every turn.

Download here a sample Chapter.
And see here the movie trailer from Catching Fire.


Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) – Suzanne Collins


Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

Download here a sample Chapter.

Mockingjay Part 1 will be released in the UK cinema’s on Friday 21st November 2014.
Mockingjay Part 1 will be released in the UK cinema’s on Friday 20th November 2015.

I can’t tell you how much I can recommend these series! I adore them and I’m now listening to Mockingjay on Audiobook at work.
Have you read these books? What do you think? Will you now read these books?


2 thoughts on “Book Series I love: The Hunger Games

  1. Dear Charlie, i loved the movies i can only imagine the books will be even better.
    Nice written..i thought something like that(that katniss is just like a pylon) after seeing catching fire.
    So much i want to do but there’s only one of me….would love to read again soon too.
    Thanx for the lovely review, hugs and kisses…Mijntje.


  2. The books are much better, I always recommend reading the books first or as well. Unfortunately that is not always possible in my case hehe πŸ™‚

    You take your time finding time to read, sometimes in life other things need to happen before you can pick it up, I know that one very well.

    Let me know when you start reading it and I’m glad you like my reviews ^_^

    Charlie x


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s