Book Review: The King (BDB #12) – JR Ward

This book is part of a series called Black Dagger Brotherhood. I would recommend reading this series from the start, starting with Dark Lover, as it otherwise might confuse you as this book moves on from where it left off the previous books with a few new characters.

#1 J.R. Ward’s # 1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood continues as a royal bloodline is compromised by a grave threat to the throne.

Long live the King

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk. Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them. The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over?

My thoughts:

The first couple of chapters I had difficulty getting into the story, the switching between the characters was quite distracting in the beginning as well. However, after I recognised the characters and their stories again I was fully drawn back into the Black Dagger Brotherhood story.

This book has got several characters with their own chapters and even though it is confusing and some may find it quite annoying, I think it does matter to the story. First of all Wrath and Beth are amazing, I still love them and even more now! Especially Beth has really grown on me and some parts in the book Wrath has got me in stitches or I have a massive grin on my face!
Lassiter, Oh lassiter you are amazing! I hope you will get your own book or will be more prominent in other future books, I would love to spend the day with you I would probably die of laughter! I like that John Matthews plays a bigger role in Beths life as her brother, I do hope they will never put two and two together as it might change things. But I like it where they are now.

The other side stories, Assail and Sola, Xcor and Layla and Trez, iAm and Selena, I really like those characters and their stories. Not sure about Xcor and Layla and I’m pretty sure Qhuinn will not be all too pleased about this. And Layla is brave, very brave, but maybe also stupid…!
Assail is my other favourite, the big bad ass vamp with a weakness called Sola. Not sure how this is going to end or start for them but we just have to wait and see I guess. I hope iAm will find his mate, besides Boo ^_^ He’s a fantastic character and really helpful to everyone and a damn good cook!

The story of Wrath and Beth and The king was amazing their battles and fears for the now and future, I liked the stories about Wrath’s parents and how they’ve come about to do what they had to do, for Wrath to figure out that his parents would be proud of him no matter what and how Wrath in the end solved the problem. And actually how Wrath already broke the tradition back in the day, but also how the Black Dagger Brotherhood came to protect and train what they protect.

It is difficult to explain what I liked and didn’t like as I don’t want to give spoilers. But it is definite a good read.

I can recommend reading this book, however after speaking to a friend of mine I would suggest to read the other books in the series to understand where all the other characters came from. Or understand why certain decisions have been made or are going to be made. This book made me laugh, giggle, snort and cry exactly what I look for in a book.

Love,
Charlie

Leave a Reply

