Book Review: Bloodfever (Fever #2) – Karen Marie Moning

Bloodfever is book two in the Fever series written by Karen Marie Moning – I strongly suggest you start reading this series with DarkFever, book 1 in this series as it starts where it has been left off in book 1.

bcv_bloodfever I used to be your everyday, average girl but all that changed
one night in Dublin, when I saw my first Fae, and got dragged
into a world of deadly immortals and ancient secrets…

In her fight to stay alive, Mac must find the Sinsar Dubh—a million year old book of deadly black magic, which holds the key to power over both the worlds of Fae and Man. Pursued by assassins, surrounded by people she knows she can’t trust, Mac finds herself torn between two dangerous and powerful men, V’lane, a lethal Fae prince and the mysterious Jericho Barrons.

For millennia the shadowy realm of the Fae court has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down and Mac is the only thing that stands between them.

My thoughts:
I am glad I can read these books in one go and all 5 of this series have been released otherwise I would’ve been waiting in anticipation for the next one…. MAN what an ending! Again I don’t think I’ve ever had a book where the ending almost felt like in the middle of the sentence… And… I didn’t mind! Now I’m not sure if that’s because I know i’ve got the other book ready or because I just found out that I quite like the suspense and waiting for the next book anticipation. Hmmm….

Anyways you can clearly tell that Mac is going through a huge transformation here, you have Mac 1.0 and now Mac 2.0 and she’s already talking about herself in the Pink version Mac and the Spear carrying Mac.
I am quite proud that Mac is standing up more and more for herself and don’t let anyone dictate her – Barrons and I think V’Lane are the only people you can trust (well if you can call them people haha) Rowena this Sidhe-seer master probably, has done nothing then watch from the sidelines almost getting Mac killed. I don’t like her. I do like that Mac finally gets in contact with other Sidhe-Seers and I am curious about and for Mac about her parents and what Mac actually is. I hope she will be able to find this out during all the mess Dublin is in.

Mac is really really going through the changes from being in pink to eating stuff she would never thought it was possible and even shocking Barrons! Which brings me on the other subject: Barrons… Man how sexier can you get? And he does care about Mac! With tattoos and cuffs and all! He is something different and I would never put him in the same category as an Alpha-Male – he’s beyond that! He’s in his own league and quite on spot #1 on my list far far far above the rest.

Whilst I am re-reading this series – I have been reading them back in 2011, so some bits I couldn’t remember. What I could remember was Dani – and till this date I still have a love/hate relationship with Dani… Anyways I can’t rack my brain to know if that has changed in the last book… Anyways she’s a good addition I think as it reminds Mac of her sister and both of them are out for Revenge. Which reminds me, we still haven’t figured out who murdered Mac’s sister, Alina, and if her suspicions are correct.

Recommending this series – definitely! But do start at book one, Darkfever – as these books are like one big story with the definite ending at book 5.

You can read an Excerpt again!

Leave a Reply

