Book Review: Dreamfever (Fever #4) – Karen Marie Moning

Dreamfever is book 4 of the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. I would strongly recommend to start at book 1, Darkfever, as these books tell 1 big story divided in 5 books.

dreamfever They may have stolen my past but I will never let them take my future.

When the walls between Man and Fae come crashing down, freeing the immortal Unseelie from their icy prison, Mac is caught in a deadly trap. Trapped and tortured by the Fae Lord Master, Mac has no memory of who or what she is: the only sidhe-seer alive that can track the Sinsar Dubh, a book of black magic that holds the key to controlling both worlds.

Clawing her way back from oblivion is only the first step Mac must take down a perilous path, from the battle filled streets of Dublin to the treacherous politics of an ancient, secret sect, through the tangled lies of men who claim to be her allies into the illusory world of the Fae themselves where nothing is as it seems—and Mac is forced to face a soul-shattering truth.
Who do you trust when you can’t even trust yourself?

My thoughts:
Jericho Barrons, I see the change coming but have you fully embraced it and are you aware that Mac will fight it and that it will take her ages to accept? Pri-ya is a horrible, horrible thing – I understand why it has been put in and I felt for Mac, really really felt for Mac. And brave brave Dani saves Mac, but it is Barrons who brings her back from being Pri-ya! I love Barrons, I love Jericho. He’s not a superhero, doesn’t want to be and doesn’t claim to be one. He’s just honest and down to earth and will ask the right questions and do the things to make you think and decide your own faith. I love how he went through all the things he could think of to bring Mac back, from bringing her pink stuff and pictures of Alina into her room to even dancing and singing naked with Mac to the songs that used to be on her iPod! For this and this only I love you Barrons and my heart broke a little when you said: “You’re leaving me, Rainbow girl”. You knew the end was coming and you knew what Mac’s response would be and yet you did it.

Who was the 4th Unseelie Prince? When will we know… I know Mac is sure there was a 4th one, the one hiding from her no matter what anyone else says!
What happened to Christian later in the Silvers, I hope we bump into him later. And Ryodan is a mystery as well, or isn’t he?

Dani, I do need to write about Dani. All the ‘feckers’ are doing my head in, but I do love Dani as a character. She knows what she wants, not always in a mature way. But the past (who knows what that is) has shaped her into what she is now. And she’s being more often than not underestimated except by Mac. Mac sees her for who she is, but also gives her the respect she needs.

And once again Karen Marie Moning does a massively truly BAM in the end… Of course ahum I knew what it was as soon as it started to urinate a circle around her. Possessive or what? Hehe – But mac being confused and finding the only thing that would work for her and then, then, then…! AARRGGHHH!
Again it’s a lucky thing I had book 5 ready…!

Read an excerpt here.
And if you’ve read the book, you can read a deleted scene here… it’s worth it, trust me!

Leave a Reply

