Book Review: City of Heavenly Fire (TMI #6) – Cassandra Clare

Yessssss I have been looking forward to this book for years! Finally it’s here, it’s massive and then I started reading and I didn’t want it to end! But I have done it and below you can find my review on City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare. As always I would recommend you start reading this series, The Mortal Instruments, from the start with book 1 – City of Bones.

City of Heavenly Fire (TMI #6) – Cassandra Clare

031614_0924_Bookrelease2.jpg In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My thoughts

Ok Ok I’ve promised you all a review – now I can’t make it completely spoiler free, for some bits you must have read the previous 5 books in the series, but also The Infernal Devices as well. But other parts I really couldn’t keep it in me, or I might have hinted at something as well.

We meet again with Clary, Jace, Isabella, Simon, Alec, Magnus and ofcourse Sebastian. And we also meet a few new characters like Emma, Jules, Helen and the other Blacktorn children.

I must admit I wasn’t a huge fan of the last two books, I had troubles getting into them, difficult to keep reading and the continuous Clare and Jace was doing my head in… But they’ve redeemed themselves in this book. Yes the choices they sometimes made were sometimes silly, but it made sense with the way Clary and Jace are as a character, as a team, as lovers. I find they have truly grown as characters from where we first read about them in book 1.

So you have got the Endarkened Shadowhunters now, created by Sebastian by the Immortal Cup and he’s got an ally… but who is this ally? I did figure it out, but not too far away from the reveal in the book. Very cleverly and well done and it shows that now all folk can be trusted purely because they can’t tell a lie. Most of the fights are held within the Institutes or in Alicante, but our heroes venture into a world below – Hell – to try to get Sebastian killed. That world was quite intriguing to read about as well as what happened there with Jace and his Heavenly Fire. Another thing where there was a voice in the back of my head saying – don’t worry I know they’ve got a plan – to doubting if they would pull it off… but I loved it!

Isabelle and Simon, just wow! Whereas in the previous books I started to not sure if I liked Simon or not, in this one he turned the table for me. He was amazingly grown as a character and did some very heroic things. Him and Isabella are made for each other.

Alec and Magnus, another couple that are meant to be together. They are so funny and happy together and miserable apart. It was lovely to read. I haven’t read the Bane Chronicles yet – but will do so now! I want more of Magnus Bane ^_^

There were also some shocky things in this book…. Some unexpected deaths, which some of them brought a tear to my eye!

Cassandra has started up a few characters for her new series as well – The Dark Artifacts, which includes Emma as the last Carstairs and the remaining Blackthron children. Especially the relationship between Emma and Jules will be quite interesting to read about.

All in all I absolutely loved this series, the grow of the characters, the world, the ending, the curiosity for the Carstairs and Blackthorns in the follow up book. I will miss this Shadowhunter world for now and I will definitely be coming back to them. It has been a journey and the ending had me in happy tears.

Hats off to Cassandra!

GoodReads button

Leave a Reply

