Review: Shield of Winter (Psy-Changeling #13) – Nalini Singh

Ahhh finally I am able to write my review of Shield of Winter, Psy-Changeling #13, by Nalini Singh! I loved this book so much that it took me a while to put it into words – other than just saying I LOOOOOOVEEEEE VASIC AND IVY! As… well.. it is not really a review isn’t it? haha!

Shield of Winter (Psy-Changeling #13) – Nalini Singh

17159944Assassin. Soldier. Arrow. That is who Vasic is, who he will always be. His soul drenched in blood, his conscience heavy with the weight of all he’s done, he exists in the shadows, far from the hope his people can almost touch—if only they do not first drown in the murderous insanity of a lethal contagion. To stop the wave of death, Vasic must complete the simplest and most difficult mission of his life. 

For if the Psy race is to survive, the empaths must wake…

Having rebuilt her life after medical “treatment” that violated her mind and sought to stifle her abilities, Ivy should have run from the black-clad Arrow with eyes of winter frost. But Ivy Jane has never done what she should. Now, she’ll fight for her people, and for this Arrow who stands as her living shield, yet believes he is beyond redemption. But as the world turns to screaming crimson, even Ivy’s fierce will may not be enough to save Vasic from the cold darkness…

GoodReads button

My thoughts

It took me a while to write a review because I was still so attached to this book.

First of all let me start with Ivy and Vasic – wow! What a couple is this…! What I liked about their relationship that it really needed to grow, especially with them both subjected to Silence it took them a while to figure out what they were feeling and why, that process was neatly written.

Vasic is amazing…. Judd still comes on top place but Vasic is definitely almost bumping him off his 1st spot here – I love the Arrows. What I love about them is that they are loyal and trustworthy and only do things they strongly believe in when the orders come from their superior. Unfortunately that means that they have had to do some nasty stuff in the past – but they didn’t know better.

What none of the Arrows realised yet is that being an Arrow and the decisions you have to make all revolves about emotions, the strong protectiveness they have for each and every Arrow is unique – maybe that is what happens if you are being subjected to training from the age of 4.

Ivy has been through a lot as well – being known as broken whilst she’s a very strong E-Psy, I loved Rabbit here as well. Yes Ivy and Vasic are a fantastic couple together.

Their sexy scenes are mind blowing! I wouldn’t mind doing some time travelling if you know what I mean ^_^ And the things Vasic says – who’s girls heart wouldn’t melt by hearing those??

They story between Vasic and Aden is fantastic, their friendship from so young – again something you need emotions for. They have each other’s back no matter what. I absolutely adore Aden and hope the next book will be about him.

The Psy world…. Wow! I was really curious how that world would be after the collapse and how Kaleb is trying to fix it. What to do with the minds of the Psy who, if they don’t have feedback, will go insane and die. How that world is slowly evolving in embracing Empaths is nicely done. There is still a lot of work to be done – but it is amazing. I wasn’t sure how Nalini was going to fix the Psy world but I was blown away!

We also see some old loveable characters in passing – it was lovely to read little snippets about them. And we see a few more new characters , more Arrows and we read more about the Arrow Grandfather as I call him: Zie Zen. Not going to spoil anything but he massively surprised me and I really came to like hime.

Another thing I liked to see is how Faiths father has/is always caring about ‘former’ F-Spy’s. He never let them to their own or to the council’s devices. He took care of them and that is clear.

I would almost say this is a conclusion to the Psy-Changeling series but luckily it is not! There is still a lot more Arrows I want to read about and I want to know how the little one from Sasha is growing up and I want to know about the twins of Riley ^_^ And even though the beginning is set for a whole new Psy net mind – There is still always the NetMind and DarkMind lurking about. I’m not ready yet to stop reading this series and luckily Nalini Singh isn’t ready to stop writing about them!

Definitely recommending this book – but as always with this series I would recommend starting with book 1 – Slave to Sensation.

 

GoodReads button

 

Leave a Reply

