Review: One Hundred Proposals – Holly Martin

My first book this year I can add to the Best Summer Reads of all times! If you are looking for a lovely, fun, light-hearted, flirty and romantic summer read, then you definitely should add this book to your collection. I already know that I will read this book for long summer years to come!

One Hundred Proposals – Holly Martin

one hundred proposals ‘Is there really such a thing as a perfect proposal?
Over the next hundred days I intend to find out. I will find one hundred ways to propose to our Chief Proposer Suzie McKenzie and post the results here for your enjoyment. One thing’s for sure, not one of my proposals will be on top of the Eiffel Tower with a dozen red roses.’

Best friends Suzie and Harry are partners in romance. That is, they run the.PerfectProposal.com, coming to the aid of would-be grooms to create the ultimate marriage proposal.

But when Harry decides to catapult the business into the big leagues with a PR stunt all Suzie can see is a hundred days of heartbreak stretching ahead of her. But however exotic the location, or breath-takingly romantic the setting, Suzie has to keep remembering that ‘Marry Me?’ is the one question she can’t say yes to.

This business proposal should come with one hundred broken heart warnings…

One hundred proposals, one hundred chances to say yes.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

I have to start to say I found it really hard to write a review about this book – as I still have a bookhangover but also because I really enjoyed and loved this book – it’s hard to reign in my ‘squeeling’ over this book and trying not to add any spoilers at the same time…!

From the moment I started reading I was hooked – I could relate to Suzie, she’s very down to earth, doesn’t believe she’s beautiful and thinks the man she loves is out of her reach. She would dress in her onesie and dance and singalong to silly music… well take out the onesie and I can relate to every single bit of her! And then Harry rushes along in the first pages of the book and I am instantly hooked on him too!

We see Suzie going through grief from the very beginning and it was wonderful to see her going through that and see her at the end of this as well. Acceptance about the grief and acceptance about moving forward after Jack. She mentions a couple of times Before and After Jack. The beauty of having a best friend coming to your aid in your darkest times is amazing as well – we are now talking about Harry here ^_^ – and he isn’t afraid to dump everything and help her through stuff. He knows when she needs him and when she’s thinking about Jack.
How it evolves with Suzie and Harry is beautiful to see – but also frustrated at times. There are many times I just wanted to smack their heads together and just tell them to be less frustrating towards each other and me! But it was a real page-turner, I wanted to know more!

Harry proposes (no pun intended…) to do a blog One Hundred Proposals – he’s determined to find out what Suzie’s ultimate proposal is without going through the cliche’s of standing on top of the Eiffeltower.. which I completely agree with! This blog gets picked up by a magazine and they are offered to find more places around the world to find the best proposals – not only a good PR stunt for their little company but also for the companies involved as well. I was thrilled to read they would visit more of the world! And I was curious every time what Harry had planned for Suzie.

The other characters in this book kept coming back were awesome too: Badger, Jules and Bella. Loved reading about them as well and it was good to see how Suzie handles this relationship as well. How weird grief can be and how much you are able to accept to move forward.

I can’t say much more without giving away more details – but I can assure you if you are looking for a fantastic summer read buy this book. I absolutely loved this and I will keep reading this book over and over again. It is my new ‘feel good’ book!

I can’t wait to read more of Holly Martin’s books!

Let me know what you think about this book? Are you looking for a new Summer Read or have you already read this book?

3 thoughts on “Review: One Hundred Proposals – Holly Martin

  1. Pingback: Books read in July | Miss Book Eater

Leave a Reply

