Review: The Guestbook – Holly Martin

Welcome to my review of The Guestbook by Holly Martin, let me first start off to say that I’ve never really experienced a writing style like this and I quite enjoyed it. Of course you could see this as a sort of diary, but it actually read as a guestbook you would find at a sweet and lovely cottage.
But I am moving forward way too fast, let me first introduce you to this lovely book.

The Guestbook – Holly Martin
Published: 14/02/2014
Publisher: Carina

Guestbook Welcome to Willow Cottage ā€“ throw open the shutters, let in the sea breeze and make yourself completely at home. Oh, and please do leave a comment in the Guestbook! As landlady of Willow Cottage, the young widow Annie Butterworth is always on hand with tea, sympathy or strong Norfolk cider – whatever her colourful array of guests require. A flick through the messages in the leather-bound cottage guestbook gives a tantalizing glimpse into the lives of everyone who passes through her doors. This includes Annie herself – especially now celebrity crime writer Oliver Black, is back in town. He might grace the covers of gossip magazines with a different glamorous supermodel draped on his arm every week, but to Annie, he’s always just been Olly, the man who Annie shared her first kiss with. Through the pages of the Guestbook Annie and Olly, along with all the guests that arrive at the seaside retreat, struggle with love, loss, mystery, joy, happiness, guilt…and the odd spot of naked rambling! Forget sending postcards saying wish you were here – one visit to Willow Cottage and you’ll wish you could stay forever.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

My oh my, I am not sure where to begin with this review, other than I absolutely loved this book. I loved reading about Annie or Mrs Butterworth and how her life would look like through this guestbook. From the start I wasa captivated by this, I can say, unique writing style. It was strange, in a good way, to not have chapters in here but dates and names.
You actually grow up and wonder about the families who have visited or are visiting this lovely Willow Cottage. It actually made me want to stay in there and write in this guestbook to Annie myself!
The road for Annie, from being a widow and accepting another man in her life was quite lovely to read, I was hoping she would end up with the person I had in mind (Yeah.. not going to spoil it for you all!)

The way Annie interacted with her guest, how strange they might be, was really nice and funny to read. Nothing was to weird or to funny and she was most definitely not fazed when someone turned up with a hoarde of animals! I had a weak spot for Annie from the start ^_^

I really loved Holly’s writing and I can’t praise her books enough, this is also definitely a must read!

Have you read The Guestbook or other books written by Holly Martin already? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Guestbook – Holly Martin

  1. Pingback: Books read in July | Miss Book Eater

Leave a Reply

