Review: Landline – Rainbow Rowell

Yesss I can finally post my Landline Review as I now am a proud owner of a Samsung Chromebook! Yippie!!
Oh can we also just look at the pretty cover? It is soooo gorgeous!

Landline – Rainbow Rowell
Published: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Orion

Landline Synopsis Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and he still loves her – but that almost seems besides the point now. Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells him that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her – he is always a little upset with her – but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her. When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything. That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts… Is that what she’s supposed to do? Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

 

My Thoughts

Well I don’t know where to start! I guess I start by saying that Rainbow Rowell is an awesome writer and believe it or not, this is the first book I’ve read from her! I haven’t read Fangirl or Eleanor & Park or Attachments yet… I know right?!? I’m now officially on a book BUYING ban and I will have to wait a very long time before I will have those beauties in my hand and read.

But back to Landline – wow what a story! This Is a very unique love story of two people, Neal & Georgie; mainly Georgie, who are figuring out what love in a marriage truly means. Every married couple (and unmarried of course) go through these phases, and it was nice to read about it in such a lovely, funny but also emotional way. As I am a newlywed of almost 10 months, I felt that this story was really tugging on my heart strings.

Georgie and Neal have childred, Noomie and Alice. Oh how I wanted to grab Noomie and Alice and give them a mega hug and squeeze – two such adorable kids it’s unbelievable! Neal, Neal…you are one big star as a husband but also as a daddy – definitely as a daddy! But Georgie has got a best friend Seth and with him she runs the writing studio’s (Neal dislikes him with a passion) and they have a deadline which will mean working through Christmas. Dismayed by his wife’s priorities, Neal takes the plunge an heads to Omaha with the children, without Georgie. It was sad to read the relationship between Neal and Georgie; how taking each other for granted, really has come between them, to the extent that it may break down their marriage!

During their time apart, Georgie stays at her mums and she finds this old Landline (hint hint!). As her mobile is broken she decides to phone Neal from this phone and et voila she is in contact with Neal from before – The Neal from the year that they almost broke up, but ended up engaged!
These phone calls ranged from very funny to again very emotional. I’m not sure how I can describe to you why this story was so close to my heart, but maybe deep down I wish all ‘almost broke up couples’ would have a magic Yellow Landline, just to see if it can be fixed you know.

At times I wanted to shake some sense into Georgie, other times I wanted to shake Seth – but I did quite love Seth. He is an outstanding person to have as a friend, and at the same time frustrating, as he just didn’t seem to understand how important Neal and their marriage are to Georgie….

I liked it that it had a sort of open ending, a marriage such as that can’t be fixed so quickly which made it more realistic for me.

Well enough of me rambling on, as you can see I find it really difficult to find the words for this beautifully written story, with a bit of time-travelling and a big yellow magic landline.
I am optimistic that my own marriage will not come to this, but hoping that there is a yellow Landline hidden in my wardrobe… just in case!

One thought on “Review: Landline – Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Books read in July | Miss Book Eater

Leave a Reply

