Review: Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) – Richelle Mead

Ahhh here is finally my review on Silver Shadows! There is so much love for this book, that it took me a while to make coherent thoughts other then sigh Adrian. I do have to admit I am easily pleased haha ^_^ (Sorry Adrian!!)

Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) – Richelle Mead
Publisher: Puffin Books
Release Date: 29 July 2014
Source: Bought

SilverShadowsSynopsis

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists.

Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their way back to each other. But first, they have to survive.

For Sydney, trapped and surrounded by adversaries, life becomes a daily struggle to hold on to her identity and the memories of those she loves. Meanwhile, Adrian clings to hope in the face of those who tell him Sydney is a lost cause, but the battle proves daunting as old demons and new temptations begin to seize hold of him. . . .

Their worst fears now a chilling reality, Sydney and Adrian face their darkest hour in this heart-pounding fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where all bets are off.

My Thoughts

Well we are back in a very dark time for Adrian and especially Sydney. Sydney being captured by the awful Alchemists to make sure she gets re-programmed for her ‘sins’ by being romantically involved with Adrian (Who would object to that…!!)
What a bunch of awful people are there at the Alchemists! I loved how Sydney kept her calm, her wits, her brains and mostly her love for Adrian and the rest of her friends alive. No matter what the conditioning she had to go through, they and mostly Adrian was on the foreground on her mind. How she helped the others within the department etc.

Adrian, sometimes I was jumping up and down and almost shouting: MY HERO! Others I wanted to smack him in the face and shout: WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE! I didn’t agree how he was with in the Court, but I guess that will have some tail in the last one in the series.

Together they are amazing and still my favourite book couple within the Vampire Academy series.

The Alchemists – what a bunch of &!^*%$^$&. I can’t even describe in words how I despise them, their methods ancient and for absolutely no reason. How dare Zoe and her father turn in Sydney, I hope Zoe realises what she has put Sydney through!

I found that the chapters switching between Sydney and Adrian worked, although sometimes it felt like mini cliffhangers to me gah! I can’t deal with lots of cliffhangers and Richelle Mead is THE inventor of THE cliffhanger! The ending was phenomenal and I can’t wait for the last book to come out.

There were definitely some romance parts in there I didn’t expected and certainly would never have guessed! But loved them nonetheless. I know Sydney and Adrian will have lots more bridges to cross before they will get accepted.

The last book will hopefully give conclusions between the rest of the gang, as well as secretly hoping that Dimitri and Rose will play a bigger part.

Overall I found it a fantastic book and I can highly recommend this to everyone. But as always with this series, I recommend you to read from Book #1 first.

3 thoughts on “Review: Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) – Richelle Mead

  1. Pingback: August wrap up post | Miss Book Eater

Leave a Reply

