Review: Worth the Fall (The McKinney Brothers #1) – Claudia Connor

Worth the FallWorth the Fall (The McKinney Brothers #1) – Claudia Connor
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept
Release Date: 9th September 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: An ARC via Netgalley

They meet on a beach. . . . Abby Davis isn’t wearing a skimpy bikini or sipping umbrella drinks, not when she’s busy chasing around four little ones. And Matt McKinney isn’t looking for fun—he’s a Navy SEAL, a grown man with a long list of missions . . . and fallen brothers.

They only have a week. . . . Abby has brought her children to this beach to start over, to give them the enjoyable memories they deserve. Matt’s been sidelined by a combat injury, and haunted by the best friend he lost and the promise he made: to remain a SEAL—focused and dedicated. This leaves no time for what he’s always wanted: a family.

But a week is all it takes. . . . Matt opens her heart while Abby soothes his soul. And though they plan to say good-bye when the week is over, something magical happens on that beach, something neither can forget. Something utterly, completely worth falling for.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

This is such a beautiful and loving story between Matt and Abby. I could relate to most of the story being an Army Wife so I could feel the pain Matt’s family and Abby went through! I have started and finished this in one sitting and now I am trying to stay awake for work with little sleep. That’s how this book captivated me, I couldn’t put it down!

Matt is so sweet towards Abby and her kids, you could tell they were missing a father figure in their life and sweet sweet Annie! She brought tears to my eyes on many occasions, it is at these moments that you realise that kids know and hear and see everything, no matter how hard you try to hide stuff from them.

Abby has been through a hell of a lot and her struggles to trust someone, anyone was painful but also beautiful to read. You want her to trust Matt, but at the same time, because of the emotional background, you don’t want her to trust in him straight away. Trust needs to be earned, from both sides, and I think this book has captured this very well.

I felt the anxiety of Abby starting to be part of a big loving family, I felt her fears and tremors and shared all of her joy of being accepted. She’s a fierce little kitten at times and this made me smile ^_^

I’ve seen Abby grow into a stronger person and her children blossom. I had no problem with the kids being there, around them and interrupting ‘moments’ because that’s what kids do and I loved them even more for it. Matt and Abby worked and fought for each other.

When towards the end certain decisions are made, I knew that would happen. With T-Bone in mind and the fact a SEAL stays a SEAL I could feel this decision coming up. And this was beautifully written, it captured the angst and anxiety of both people, Matt the Navy SEAL and the family, Abby, left behind and the kids. I didn’t felt anger towards Matt, I felt that he made the right decision.
The tears were definitely flowing when Abby had a visitor – not only made me that proud of Abby and Matt. It made ME proud of my husband, proud of what he’s doing for his country.

Leave a Reply

