Review: Connectivity – Aven Ellis

ConnectivityConnectivity – Aven Ellis
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Release date: 14 October 2013
Source: Received from Author

Overachiever Mary-Kate Grant (who is indeed named after an Olsen Twin) has followed every rule to the letter to pursue her dream of working in TV programming. Ripping a page from the “hard work pays off” playbook, she takes an assistant level job at a Chicago sports network to break into the industry.

MK has no time or desire for a relationship right now—she is totally focused on her career and being independent, unlike the other women in her family.

But MK’s plans are run through the shredder when she finds herself working for William Cumberland, a British media mogul who made his fortune with Connectivity, a social media site. William blows into Chicago just like the winds off Lake Michigan and purchases the group of networks MK works for—and makes her his personal assistant in the process.

Suddenly MK finds her career plans in jeopardy. William makes her question everything she has ever thought and has the uncanny ability to see right through her. And for the first time in her life, MK finds herself not only questioning what she wants for her career but for her personal life as well.

GoodReads button

My Thoughts

I received this eBook from Aven Ellis – not for a review but as a thank you for loving her book Waiting for Prince Harry (I can highly recommend this one – I have reviewed it). So thank you Aven!

Let me first say that I love William Cumberland, he’s unbelievable romantic and a badass mogul at the same time! I loved him even more when he was visiting his only family, his brother & sister in law and his niece and nephew. How he slowly opened up to Mary-Kate and his protectiveness towards her was shining through very early on, I mean who else wants to fire his staff just because they are telling lies about MK!
His love shone through his actions a lot and I was often seen smiling a goofy smile or snorting and laughing at the story. Which leads me to MK or Mary-Kate (Yes after the Olsen Twins from Full House)… She snorts and laughs a lot – I can relate… I do that too and not many people find that endearing including me haha!

MK is fierce and a redhead (another redhead, I should make a monthly feature about leading red heads) and knows what she wants from her future. Including taking up an assistant job within a company only because they have the Beautiful Home Network, she knows she has to start at the bottom and find her way up. Career driven woman who is not afraid in making changes, I love that!
Then suddenly she gets stuck in a binding machine (Oh girl, I feel your horror for those machines..!!) and gets rescued by Mr Cumberland, the new Mogul who is taking over her company. And that is where they first meet and a match from her book is struck ^_^

I didn’t liked MK’s friends – which is a first for me, nor did I liked her family… There is more in life than a wedding to plan and I would’ve told her sister a long time ago to shove this wedding where the sun doesn’t shine. I don’t like supporting family members or friends, that is a pet hate of mine! So gladly she found someone who did trust in her and her abilities, who would give her the push she needed to make the changes to her career! I can tell her – writing a blog is very satisfying!

The journey William and Mary-Kate make is really sweet and didn’t felt rushed at all. They really took the time to get to know each other and the inner dialogue both of them have about being in a relationship with your boss or not was quite cute! Even though this book is written from MK’s point of view, in the actions from William you could see that he was struggling with that concept as well.
But they will find their way through it all and I was really rooting for them to do well.

I can highly recommend this book and any other books Aven Ellis will write – she will be on my list of favourite authors where I will drop everything to read anything new she writes.

Leave a Reply

