Review: Archangel’s Shadows (Guild Hunter #6) by Nalini Singh

uk archangel's shadow small with shadowArchangel’s Shadow (Guild Hunter #6) by Nalini Singh
Publisher: Gollancz
Release Date: 6 November 2014
Source: Review copy received from Gollancz in exchange for honest review.
Buy Link: Amazon UK

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s sensual and painfully beautiful Guild Hunter world in her new novel of sacrifice, loyalty, and the choices of love that can shatter the heart.

In the wake of a brutal war, the archangel Raphael and his hunter consort, Elena, are dealing with the treacherously shifting tides of archangelic politics and the people of a battered but not broken city. The last thing their city needs is more death, especially a death that bears the eerie signature of an insane enemy archangel who cannot— should not—be walking the streets.

This hunt must be undertaken with stealth and without alerting their people. It must be handled by those who can become shadows themselves…

Ash is a gifted tracker and a woman cursed with the ability to sense the secrets of anyone she touches. But there’s one man she knows all too well without a single instant of skin contact: Janvier, the dangerously sexy Cajun vampire who has fascinated and infuriated her for years. Now, as they track down a merciless killer, their cat-and-mouse game of flirtation and provocation has turned into a profound one of the heart. And this time, it is Ash’s secret, dark and terrible, that threatens to destroy them both.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

I have been waiting for so long for Ashwini and Janvier’s story that I was jumping up and down for joy when it was only a couple of days left before release – before this pretty book landed on my Kindle! And boy I thought it was worth the wait! I might be a bit biased here – as I absolutely adore the Guild Hunter series and I will read anything from Nalini Singh… But man I thought that this book didn’t disappoint at all!

At some points I did found it a bit slow, but I quite liked that – I didn’t want to rush through this book and I really wanted to enjoy this. They flirty relationship between Janvier and Ash has always been there and it was more explored now too. Of course! And my heart was breaking for Ash when we slowly learn about her past and why she’s so reluctant to give in to her feelings to Janvier. What if this ‘condition’ gets worse when becoming a vampire – do I deteriorate quicker as a vamp or as a human?

The story starts off right in the middle of the battle from Archangel’s Legion where the Shadowteam, Janvier, Ashwini and Naasir, are doing their thing to distract the enemy and it is working! Although death comes close for Ash but Janvier saves the day! You could really tell the chemistry between them on the pages, and I loved it that they didn’t rush into anything. How Ash slowly let Janvier further and further into her life and her secrets. And how Janvier slowly and more surely was falling for Ash and even considered not existing anymore if Ash decided to stay human! Yeah I really really loved their story and Nalini done it justice – it was definitely worth the wait.

The glimpses of my favourite couple, Raphael and Elena were really nice too. Glad to see that Calianne is slowly accepting Elena as Raphael’s consort. And Elena can throw a blockparty anytime! As long as I’m invited! Raphael’s Seven have lodged themselves into my heart as well! What am I going to do when this series finishes?

Can I just say I have developed a soft spot for Naasir? I want to know what kind of creature he is and I loved his character so much. I also want to read more about our Bluebell, Illium, but I think I want/need Naasir’s story first.

3 thoughts on “Review: Archangel’s Shadows (Guild Hunter #6) by Nalini Singh

  1. Thank you sooo much for not putting any major spoilers out there. I can’t wait til I read this book! I love the Guild Hunter series, I’m just now currently beginning her Psy/Changeling series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always have that in mind when I write a review – I don’t want to put out major spoilers. Some things have to be said – I mean they are paranormal romances so you know they will be together etc. But I always try to make them into a review that invites people to actually read the book!

      So your compliment gave me a massive smile that I do achieve that! thank you 🙂
      And you will enjoy the Psy/Changeling series. What book are you at?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I finished the first one last month, but with a lot of book stuff going on for this month and December I might not be able to read the second one until next year. Maybe I can squeeze it in, or maybe I’ll be able to get Archangels’ Shadow and squeeze that in instead.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

