Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Goblet of Fire This is the pivotal fourth novel in the seven part tale of Harry Potter’s training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at the Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened in a hundred years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen year old wizard. Unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.

And in his case, different can be deadly.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

Yes I have been on a Binge Reading session with Harry Potter just before Christmas and I am loving it! It has been so many years I have read these books and Goblet of Fire felt familiar but yet so new for me to read! I am loving Hermoine more in here, with her stand for the House-Elves – I completely forgot about S.P.E.W. or lovingly referred to by Ron and Harry as SPEW.
The interaction between Ron and Hermoine is even better here as normal, I always said they liked each other from the beginning and it is plainly clear in this book for me that there is a mutual attraction, but will they act on it? Noooo because they are silly acting little kids ^_^ hehe exactly how kids of their age would behave in school.

Harry thought he was loving his time at Hogwarts, but when his name mysteriously appears in the Goblet of Fire and he needs to compete as the fourth champion, but second for Hogwarts, is were the trouble begins! No one but Hermoine, Dumbledore and Hagrid believes that Harry hasn’t put his name into the goblet. This makes for some hilarious but awkward moments between Harry and Ron. We also glimpse and read a lot about Cedric, one of the other contestants. I love Cedric and he was very much a Hufflepuf but also showed a lot of bravery to do Hogwarts and Gryffindor proud!
Of course I suspected Moody from the beginning, and not only because I can dream the films by now, but just the way he behaved.
It is lovely to read the interaction between the different schools and we also come in contact with Rita Skeeter – the highly annoying writer for The Daily Prophet.

I was full of different emotions reading this book and I actually liked Snape better in the books then in all the films – of course you can give more background in the books and you can do more with a book then in the film. But nevertheless I still love both!
As there can be more info in the book, I loved reading how the Twins, Fred and George, received the funding for their joke shop.

I will be onto Book five after writing this review – even though I will be cutting my time short into reading books I have to read for a review, but guess you can say I am in a Harry Potter book hangover and the only way to cure that right now is to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

