Review: The Death House by Sarah Pinborough

TheDeathHouseThe Death House by Sarah Pinborough
Publisher: Gollancz
Release date: 26th February 2015
Buy links: Amazon UK
Source: Received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Toby’s life was perfectly normal… until it was unravelled by something as simple as a blood test.

Taken from his family, Toby now lives in the Death House: an out-of-time existence far from the modern world, where he, and the others who live there, are studied by Matron and her team of nurses. They’re looking for any sign of sickness. Any sign of their wards changing. Any sign that it’s time to take them to the sanatorium.

No one returns from the sanatorium.

Withdrawn from his house-mates and living in his memories of the past, Toby spends his days fighting his fear. But then a new arrival in the house shatters the fragile peace, and everything changes.

Because everybody dies. It’s how you choose to live that counts.

GoodReads button

My thoughts:

I received this copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

When I received The Death House I wasn’t really sure what to expect, It sounded really mysterious and almost thriller like. The cover makes it sure looks like that as well.

What I didn’t know, but soon realised is that this is a Young Adult book. And I really enjoyed this story. The story reminded me of a boarding school and all the students are in a pattern of school, playtime and sleep. Although this is of course not a boarding school and the students aren’t healthy! Up to your 18th year your blood is being tested and if it is found to be ‘defective’ you are being send to a big manor house called: The Death House. The kids are there, nurses are there to look for signs of people getting ill and then you are silently taken away in the night to the Sanatorium. Everyone receives their ‘vitamins’ at night and therefore won’t wake up in the middle of the night when they hear things or will be crying in the night.

Now we meet Toby, Toby has decided from the very beginning to not take his ‘vitamins’ as he’s not silly and knows they are anything but. His nights are his and he knows what happens in the night when one of the kids has been taken ill. He knows what the routine is and what the sound of the lift is when they are taking another ill child. The house is seperated into dorms and each dorm look after their own. No mingling in, because what is the point really? Toby is the eldest and therefore the ‘leader’ of the dorm and can’t care much other than staying alive, keeping his dorm on the highest number of not ill, sleeping in the afternoon and feeling ‘free’ in the night.
Will and Louis has stolen my heart in this story, Will is so young and carefree and Louis is smart and they are best mates. Even Ashley, Tom, Jake, Daniel, Clara (of course) and the other girls Henriette and Eleanor all have a little place in my heart.

One day the house gets two new occupants, Tom and Clara. Clara is the new girl and everyone fawns over here except Toby. For Toby she’s just someone who is disturbing the peace, same with Tom. But Clara is also not taking her vitamins from day one and now is sharing the nights with Toby and of course they start to enjoy the nights together and exploring the house.

How Toby is slowly changing throughout the story and how all the little fun things really count really made my heart swell. There is always something worth living for.

I really enjoyed this story, it is mysterious. What does being defective means? What and where is the sanatorium, why are the nurses like this and the Matron, why does she makes certain decisions? I had way more questions and would love to have some more answers, but at the other hand I don’t. Keep the mysteriousness alive.
I am pretty sure people will be talking about this book for a long time. Some will love it and some will hate it. But for me it was a lovely enjoyable book with a bit of mystery thrown in. I have had a few tears and shared a few laughters and enjoying the really Young Adult feel of this book.

‘An exceptional, contemporary, heartbreaking novel’ That’s what on the back of the book and I completely agree with this.

Advertisements

Review: Chronicles of a Lincoln Park Fashionista by Aven Ellis

Chronicles of a Lincoln Park Fasionista by Aven Ellis
Book two in this series was released on 19 December 2014 and is called: Surviving the Rachel
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Release Date: 10 September 2014
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick-Lit

Chronicles of a Lincoln Park FashionistaRecent college graduate Avery Andrews is ready to begin a new life in the big city. She’s landed an apartment in Chicago’s famed Lincoln Park neighborhood–and has her eye on the cute commodity trader just a floor above.

If Premier Airlines knew about her fear of flying, they never would have hired her to be their marketing assistant—but it’s not like Avery wants a lifelong career. Right now she simply wants a job to pay her bills . . . and fund a few little shopping excursions, too.

Her new lifestyle comes with a price tag, as Avery is not only faced with paying a ridiculous rent but finds she’s perceived as one of the vacant, husband-hunting fashionistas who live in the area. Avery resents this stereotype. So she doesn’t want a lifelong career, and she loves fashions she can’t afford, but that doesn’t mean she is empty-headed and spoiled, does it?

When an opportunity to participate in a documentary at work arises, Avery finds a two-fold solution to her problems. She’ll earn extra money for it, and the documentary will show her as a serious career woman, enabling her to shed that husband-hunting fashionista label for good.
When the camera is on, Avery attempts to be a motivated professional woman. But when she is challenged by Deacon Ryan, the videographer assigned to cover her story, Avery finds herself wanting things she was never supposed to want—like a lasting career—and Deacon. And Avery might just gain more from the experience than a perfect career image and extra cash to put in her Tory Burch wallet . . .

GoodReads button

Continue reading

A very bookish Christmas

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all my followers and readers of my blog! You have no idea how happy it makes me that people are actually reading my ramblings ^_^

How was your Christmas? Did you got spoilt with some presents? Let me know!

We had quite a few busy days with Christmas and I decided I needed to give myself a week’s break from my blogging – which helped a lot! I have got some ideas in my head of what I want to do with my blog over the next year, but I have to see how to combine this with work and courses I do as well.

I had to work till 24th December, and on Christmas Eve we drove up to North Wales to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day there (It is roughly about a 5hr drive). On Christmas Day in the evening we decided to drive back, it was a good decision overall so we could have our own Christmas Day on Boxing Day, but there was also lots of snow on the roads on Boxing Day. So it was all in all a very good decision! And now I am sitting and typing this with a huge sore throat and not feeling 100% but I really wanted to post something.
I think I have been spoiled book wise with Christmas this year. I have received from my husband The Hobbit and from my manager at work I received Hogwarts Library set with Quidditch Through the Ages, The Tales of Beedle the Bard and Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them!

20141228_105621

Look at these book goodies! I am sooo pleased with these!!

What are you currently reading this holiday? I am currently on Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets! ^_^

Have you received any books for Christmas? Let me know in the comments below!

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Review: A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise by Maggie McGinnis

A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise by Maggie McGinnis
Release date:  18 November 2014
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Romance
Buy links: Amazon UK, Amazon US

A Cowboys Christmas PromiseIn a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.
 
Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini tends the city’s pampered pets but dreams of the rural life of a country vet. She’s single and determined to stay that way, convinced that love isn’t permanent enough to trust. Then a vacation to the Whisper Creek dude ranch introduces her to Daniel McKee, a sexy single dad who runs the kind of veterinary practice she aspires to—and rattles her conviction to keep men at a distance.
 
Managing a thriving practice, coping with the loss of his wife, and fighting a custody battle with his in-laws over his twin daughters, Daniel couldn’t be more overwhelmed. Hayley is a godsend, accompanying him in the field and winning over his girls. It doesn’t take Daniel long to realize he’s falling for this woman, hard and fast. So before Hayley returns to Boston, he extracts a promise: that she will return to Whisper Creek for Christmas. It’s the perfect time and place to show Hayley that the promise of a beautiful life together is something she can believe in.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

I just realised this is book two in the Whisper Creek Series – Which means that you can read this as a stand-alone and not get confused. Book one is called Accidental Cowgirl and will now obviously be read by me as well fairly soon.

Right now I am trying hard not to blubber with tears in the train! What a beautiful story this is. This book came at the right time for me to read – a feel-good with a happy ending. Not an insta-love but an insta-attraction and that is what I loved. a build up of a strong relationship which takes kids and a deceased mother of those gorgeous twin girls into consideration.

such a feel-good book which evoked lots of emotions and a grief stricken mother in law. I could relate with all major characters here and the ending and epilogue were perfect.

I have to admit, looking at the cover I would not pick out this book – but reading the blurb had my attention. I am so glad I didn’t judge this book by its cover! I seem to have developed a love for almost all books from Loveswept publisher and I will certainly read more of Maggie McGinnis.

I can highly recommend this book. It was awesome! This one will be re-read many times.

Blog Tour: One Love by Lili Saint Germain

one love blog tour

Are you ready for the conclusion to

The Gypsy Brother’s Series?

ONE LOVE IS LIVE!

it's live one love

One Love (Gypsy Brothers, Book Seven)

Amazon US:
Amazon UK:
B & N:  http://bit.ly/1utEZPg
iTunes: http://bit.ly/1rPgZFW

Continue reading