Review: Once Perfect (Shattered Past #1) – Cecy Robson

once perfectOnce Perfect (Shattered Past #1) – Cecy Robson
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept
Release Date: 07 October 2014
Genre: New Adult Romance
Source: I received a review copy from Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept via Netgalley

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members.
But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos.

Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love. Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister.

Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid. As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her. GoodReads button

My thoughts

I really enjoyed reading the story between Mateo and Evie – they are so made for eachother and even though their pasts are so different and so are their cultures, they stuck together and worked through their shit to get where they are now.

Towards the ending I was beaming with pride for Mateo and I felt so happy for him, his sisters and Evie. The book and the stories are also telling a very important lesson and I hope people who read this book and are or have been in one of these situations are able to seek help from it and know it can be different.

I would definitely recommend this book, especially for New Adult genre. Can’t wait to read the rest of this series.

Advertisements

September wrap up post

Welcome to my September wrap up post! I can’t believe we are already in October and Halloween and even Christmas displays are all over the place already! This time of the year, when Autumn really starts, is when I tend to read easy loving, lovable and HEA books. With a cup of hot chocolate, or any other hot drink, the rain coming down and the wind blowing the leaves off the tree ^_^ surrounded by my reading light and candles. Oh yeaaaaaaaah!

I have read quite a lot this month, I had a lot of time to kill in September after work and in weekends. And it has paid off! I found a few new authors I definitely keep an eye out for, found a new series I absolutely love (Yes I am looking at you Nalini Singh) and I love the privilege of NetGalley.

Go check out below my read books, my reviewed books, cover reveals and blog tours I have participated in! Have fun and as always let me know in the comments what you’ve read in September. ^_^

 

Books I’ve read this month

Dragonfly in AmberVoyagerThe Right Design Cover DesiredDark Blood

 

 

 

 

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Guest Post: Raven – Stacey Rourke

Welcome at the Blog Tour and Guest Post for Raven by Stacey Rourke!

RavenTourBanner

Book & Author details

Raven by Stacey Rourke (The Legends Saga #2)
Publication date: May 26th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal

Synopsis

Raven An infamous love, destined nevermore,
For death could not claim, the enchanting Lenore.

Cursed by the malevolent spirit of the Headless Horseman, Ireland Crane ventures to Manhattan in search of a way to break her soul crushing bond. Instead, she discovers the lines between fact and fiction are blurring once more. Croaking ravens. Telltale hearts. Could the works of Poe be coming to pass with handsome Wall Street Midas Ridley Peolte as their unwilling target?

She walks the Earth, a plague on mankind,
searching for he, her rotted heart doth pine.

Together, the two unknowingly release a dark force death itself could not tame. Surrounded by the unrelenting violence and mayhem they’ve unleashed, Ireland feels her control over the Horseman slipping. Before the beast within consumes her, she and her crew must follow the clues of the dead to right a centuries’ old wrong. Will it be enough to sate the Horseman’s appetite?

Hell hath no fury like a ghoul scorned.

GoodReads button
Continue reading

Review: Cross-Stitch (Outlander #1) – Diana Gabaldon

Welcome to my review of Cross Stitch, or Outlander in the US, by Diana Gabaldon. I had troubles writing a review for this as I feel that, after re-writing it several times, it still doesn’t do the book justice. So even before you start reading my review, please just pick up the book and read! It is more than just a historical timetravel romance novel… It is way more than that! Please pick it up and read and let me know in the comments below if you are hooked like me on Outlander and mostly Jamie and Claire Fraser!

It is also now a television series in the US and in several other countries, so I obviously can’t wait to see this broadcasted in the UK! I have seen several pictures and the cast is amazing!
Anyways lets get back to the book ^_^

Cross-Stitch (Outlander #1) – Diana Gabaldon

Blurb

Cross StitchThe year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life…and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

GoodReads button
Continue reading