Review: A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise by Maggie McGinnis

A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise by Maggie McGinnis
Release date:  18 November 2014
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Romance
Buy links: Amazon UK, Amazon US

A Cowboys Christmas PromiseIn a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.
 
Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini tends the city’s pampered pets but dreams of the rural life of a country vet. She’s single and determined to stay that way, convinced that love isn’t permanent enough to trust. Then a vacation to the Whisper Creek dude ranch introduces her to Daniel McKee, a sexy single dad who runs the kind of veterinary practice she aspires to—and rattles her conviction to keep men at a distance.
 
Managing a thriving practice, coping with the loss of his wife, and fighting a custody battle with his in-laws over his twin daughters, Daniel couldn’t be more overwhelmed. Hayley is a godsend, accompanying him in the field and winning over his girls. It doesn’t take Daniel long to realize he’s falling for this woman, hard and fast. So before Hayley returns to Boston, he extracts a promise: that she will return to Whisper Creek for Christmas. It’s the perfect time and place to show Hayley that the promise of a beautiful life together is something she can believe in.

GoodReads button

My thoughts

I just realised this is book two in the Whisper Creek Series – Which means that you can read this as a stand-alone and not get confused. Book one is called Accidental Cowgirl and will now obviously be read by me as well fairly soon.

Right now I am trying hard not to blubber with tears in the train! What a beautiful story this is. This book came at the right time for me to read – a feel-good with a happy ending. Not an insta-love but an insta-attraction and that is what I loved. a build up of a strong relationship which takes kids and a deceased mother of those gorgeous twin girls into consideration.

such a feel-good book which evoked lots of emotions and a grief stricken mother in law. I could relate with all major characters here and the ending and epilogue were perfect.

I have to admit, looking at the cover I would not pick out this book – but reading the blurb had my attention. I am so glad I didn’t judge this book by its cover! I seem to have developed a love for almost all books from Loveswept publisher and I will certainly read more of Maggie McGinnis.

I can highly recommend this book. It was awesome! This one will be re-read many times.

Advertisements

Review: Connectivity – Aven Ellis

ConnectivityConnectivity – Aven Ellis
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Release date: 14 October 2013
Source: Received from Author

Overachiever Mary-Kate Grant (who is indeed named after an Olsen Twin) has followed every rule to the letter to pursue her dream of working in TV programming. Ripping a page from the “hard work pays off” playbook, she takes an assistant level job at a Chicago sports network to break into the industry.

MK has no time or desire for a relationship right now—she is totally focused on her career and being independent, unlike the other women in her family.

But MK’s plans are run through the shredder when she finds herself working for William Cumberland, a British media mogul who made his fortune with Connectivity, a social media site. William blows into Chicago just like the winds off Lake Michigan and purchases the group of networks MK works for—and makes her his personal assistant in the process.

Suddenly MK finds her career plans in jeopardy. William makes her question everything she has ever thought and has the uncanny ability to see right through her. And for the first time in her life, MK finds herself not only questioning what she wants for her career but for her personal life as well.

GoodReads button
Continue reading

Three day chapter release – Beneath the Moon and the Stars – Amelia Thorne – Chapter 2

Welcome back to the release of Chapter 2 of Beneath the Moon and the Stars by Amelia Throne! I hope you enjoy!

Beneath the Moon and the Stars is released on October 17th, the gorgeous new debut from Amelia Thorne.

Here’s the blurb:

Beneath the MoonHome, sweet home…

Joy Cartier has been to some of the most beautiful places in the world – but none of them have ever felt like home. So moving into a tiny cottage in the idyllic village of Bramble Hill, walking distance from her childhood home, seems like the perfect plan.
That is, until she gets there. The surly inhabitants of Britain’s Friendliest Village are anything but welcoming. Even her neighbour, reclusive Hollywood star Finn Mackenzie, takes one look at her and walks in the other direction.
But when the village animosity steps up a gear, it is the infuriatingly brooding Finn who keeps coming to her rescue. Slowly Joy begins to realise that maybe a happy home isn’t about where you live, but who you’re with…

Continue reading

Review: It Girl – Nic Tatano

IT GirlIt Girl – Nic Tatano
Publisher: Harper Impulse
Release date: 26 June 2014
Website: http://thechannelingauthor.blogspot.co.uk/
Source: I received this book for review from HarperCollins UK, HarperImpulse via Netgalley
Buy: Amazon UK, Kobo

Veronica Summer is stuck in the dream job from hell.

The spunky New York reporter is offered the network’s morning anchor position, but she doesn’t want it because she’s a night person. Then the network plays a trump card, promising her the evening anchor chair in three years. So the fiery redhead takes the plunge, with the ultimate gig waiting down the road.

Problem is, that road is filled with two am wake-up calls and the only social life she has is one with bats and raccoons. She quickly realizes she’ll never survive the grind and decides the only way out is to get fired by being her snarky self on live television.

And the ratings skyrocket.

Veronica becomes the nation’s It Girl, so the network makes her a celebrity contestant on its most popular nighttime dance competition show, Dance Off. While her journalistic credibility is shot to hell by the show’s skimpy costumes, she’s thrown into close contact with two incredibly attractive men; her dance partner and the show’s sarcastic British judge.

And she soon discovers that love is the ultimate gig.

GoodReads button
Continue reading

Review: One Hundred Proposals – Holly Martin

My first book this year I can add to the Best Summer Reads of all times! If you are looking for a lovely, fun, light-hearted, flirty and romantic summer read, then you definitely should add this book to your collection. I already know that I will read this book for long summer years to come!

One Hundred Proposals – Holly Martin

one hundred proposals ‘Is there really such a thing as a perfect proposal?
Over the next hundred days I intend to find out. I will find one hundred ways to propose to our Chief Proposer Suzie McKenzie and post the results here for your enjoyment. One thing’s for sure, not one of my proposals will be on top of the Eiffel Tower with a dozen red roses.’

Best friends Suzie and Harry are partners in romance. That is, they run the.PerfectProposal.com, coming to the aid of would-be grooms to create the ultimate marriage proposal.

But when Harry decides to catapult the business into the big leagues with a PR stunt all Suzie can see is a hundred days of heartbreak stretching ahead of her. But however exotic the location, or breath-takingly romantic the setting, Suzie has to keep remembering that ‘Marry Me?’ is the one question she can’t say yes to.

This business proposal should come with one hundred broken heart warnings…

One hundred proposals, one hundred chances to say yes.

GoodReads button

Continue reading